Zaheer Khan nominated for three ICC awards

first_imgEven as India struggle in England, but they have something to cheer about with most of the top stars being nominated for the coveted ICC awards including the most prized – the Cricketer of the Year Award. As many as twelve of India’s current crop of stars are in contention for the honours that will be handed out in a ceremony on September 12 in London. While pace spearhead Zaheer Khan leads the Indian nominations getting the nod in three categories including the most prized – the Cricketer of the Year Award – Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and M.S. Dhoni have been nominated in two categories each. Here’s a look at the full list of Indian nominations: Zaheer, Sachin and Dravid are in the running for the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for the ICC Cricketer of the Year. All three also feature in the Test Player of the Year nominations along with pacer Ishant Sharma and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh. Zaheer, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Munaf Patel and captain Dhoni are nominees for ODI Player of the Year.  Dhoni is also up for the People’s Choice Award, while Abhinav Mukund has been nominated for the Emerging Player of the Year Award.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *